2014 SDSU AAPG IBA team
The 2014 SDSU AAPG IBA team: From left to right; Marcelo Azevedo, Kaitin Wessel, Michael Verrier, Diana Cheung-Harris, and Trevor Swindell.

The SDSU Student Chapter of the American Association of Petroleum Geologist (AAPG) announces their 2014 Imperial Barrel Award (IBA) team.

AAPG’s Imperial Barrel Award Program (IBA) is an annual prospective basin evaluation competition for geoscience graduate students from universities around the world. University teams compete to win scholarship funds for their geoscience department and the international recognition that comes from competing or winning in the competition. The program is rigorous and contributes to AAPG’s mission of promoting petroleum geoscience training and advancing the careers of geoscience students.

In this global competition, university teams analyze a dataset (geology, geophysics, land, production infrastructure, and other relevant materials) in the eight weeks prior to their local competition. Each team delivers their results in a 25 minute presentation to a panel of industry experts. Students have the chance to use state of the art technology on a real dataset, receive feedback from an industry panel, impress potential employers in the audience, and win cash awards for their school. The judges will select the winning team on the basis of the technical quality, clarity and originality of presentation.

The IBA is a hands-on opportunity for students to experience the creative process and the high-tech science that is the foundation of the Energy Industry today.

 The IBA competition begins in early 2014.

who will win
IBA Website