Patt Abbatt holding a microphone and wearing a red tie and jacket

ABBOTT, PATRICK L.

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2007-Present)
SDSU Professor (1971-2006)

Ph.D., 1973 University of Texas, Austin

Sedimentology of Mesozoic and Cenozic rocks, the correlation of tectonically displaced terranes, and natural disasters

Email: pabbott@sdsu.edu

Vic Camp

CAMP, VIC

SDSU Lecturer Emeritus (2020 – Present)
SDSU Lecturer (1993 – 2020)

Ph.D., 1976 Washington State University

Volcanology, petrology, tectonic control of magmatic systems, geologic mapping in volcanic terrains with an emphasis on the flood basalts and Basin-and-Range volcanic rocks of eastern Oregon

Office: GMCS-228K • Phone: 619.594.7170 • Email: vcamp@sdsu.eduDr. Camp’s Website

Steven M Day

DAY, STEVE

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2016-Present)
SDSU Professor (1988-2015)

Ph.D., 1977 UC San Diego

Source dynamics, earthquake strong motion, and explosion seismology

Office: GMCS-228E • Email: sday@sdsu.edu Dr. Day’s Website

Clive Dorman

DORMAN, CLIVE E.

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2011-Present)
SDSU Professor (1974-2010)

Ph.D., 1974 Oregon State University

Physical oceaography, air-sea interaction, and marine meteorology

Office: GMCS-110 • Phone: 619.594.5707 • Email: cdorman@sdsu.edu

Gary H Girty

GIRTY, GARY H.

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2020-Present)
SDSU Professor (1984-2019)

Ph.D., 1983 Columbia

Processes controlling the compositions of sandstones and argillites, and the sedimentological and structural origins of Paleozoic/Mesozoic rocks of the western Cordillera

Office: GMCS-120 • Phone: 619.594.2552 • Email: ggirty@sdsu.edu • Dr. Girty’s Website

George Jiracek

JIRACEK, GEORGE R.

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2010-Present)
SDSU Professor (1980-2009)

Ph.D., 1972 UC Berkeley

Geophysics, especially electromagnetics including magnetotellurics, aimed at exploration and deep continental processes
Email: gjiracek@sdsu.eduDr. Jiracek’s Website

Philip J. Kern

KERN, PHIL K.

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2000-Present)
SDSU Professor (1968-1999)

Ph.D., 1968 UC Los Angeles

Chronology and deformation of Quaternary marine shorelines

Daniel Krummenacher

KRUMMENACHER, DANIEL

SDSU Professor Emeritus (1989-Present)
SDDSU Professor (1968-1988)

Ph.D., 1959 University of Geneva

K-Ar isotope geology

Monte Marshall

MARSHALL, C. MONTE

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2006-Present)
SDSU Professor (1975-2005)

Ph.D., 1971 Stanford University

Paleomagnetism, gravity, and structural geology

Email: mmarshall@sdsu.edu

Richard Miller

MILLER, RICHARD H.

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2007-Present)
SDSU Professor (1977-2006)

Ph.D., 1975 UCLA

Biostratigraphy, micropaleontology, and depositional environments

Email: rkmiller@infowest.com

Gary Peterson

PETERSON, GARY L.

SDSU Professor Emeritus (2012-Present)
SDSU Professor (1963-2011)

Ph.D., 1963 University of Washington

Stratigraphy, sedimentology, paleoclimatology, and planetary geology

Office: GMCS-228H • Phone: 619.594.5594 • Email: gpeterson@sdsu.edu • Website

Pia Parrish

PARRISH, PIA

Administrative Support (1981 – 2020)

Department Administrator and Faculty Support

Email: pparrish@sdsu.edu