Rafeal Almeida head shot

ALMEIDA, RAFAEL

Assistant Professor (2021-Present)
Ph.D., 2014 Columbia University
Deformation processes of the Andes, as well as basin development in the forearc region, using mostly field studies.
Office: GMCS-227A • Phone: 619.594.2648 • E-Mail: ralmeida@sdsu.edu

Samantha Bova head shot

BOVA, SAMANTHA

Assistant Professor (2021-Present)
Ph.D., 2017 Brown University
Paleoceanogrpahy, focusing on the geochemistry of sediment on the ocean floor to understand past changes in the Earth’s climate.
Office: GMCS-225A • Phone: 619.594.2663 • E-Mail: sbova@sdsu.edu

David L. Kimbrough

KIMBROUGH, DAVID L.

Professor (1989-Present)
Ph.D., 1982 UC Santa Barbara
Geochronology, isotope geology, petrology, and tectonics.
Office: GMCS-229A • Phone: 619.594.1385 • E-Mail: dkimbrough@sdsu.eduDr. Kimbrough’s Website

Shuo Ma

MA, SHUO

Professor (2008-Present)
Graduate Advisor
Ph.D., 2006 University of California, Santa Barbara
Earthquake source physics, Seismic wave propagation in complex media, Fault zone damage, Crustal deformation, and Seismic interferometry.
Office: GMCS-233A • Phone: 619.594.3091 • E-Mail: sma@sdsu.eduDr. Ma’s Website

Jillian Maloney

MALONEY, JILLIAN

Associate Professor (2014-Present)
Undergraduate Advisor
click this text to schedule an appoint in EAB
Ph.D., 2013 UCSD – Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Combining geophysical data including seismic reflection, multibeam bathymetry, and sidescan sonar with sediment analysis to study a number of geologic research topics.
Office: GMCS-117 • Phone: 619.594.1395 • E-Mail: jmaloney@sdsu.eduDr. Maloney’s WebsiteMaloney Lab Website

Kim Bak Olsen

OLSEN, KIM BAK

Professor (2004-Present)
Director, JDP Geophysics
The Rollin and Caroline Eckis Chair in Seismology
Ph.D., 1994 University of Utah
3-D simulation of wave propagation using finite differences, strong ground motion and site amplification, earthquake dynamics, non-linear effects in strong ground motion, modeling and migration of crosswell seismic data, parallel and high-performance computing, visualization and animation.
Office: GMCS-231A • Phone: 619.594.2649 • E-Mail: kbolsen@sdsu.eduDr. Olsen’s Website

Stephen A. Schellenberg

SCHELLENBERG, STEPHEN A.

Professor (2002-Present)
-Department Chair
Ph.D., 2000 University of Southern California
Paleobiology and paleoecology of invertebrates and protists, Mesozoic and Cenozoic paleoceanography, applications of isotopic and elemental chemistry to biological, ecological, and environmental research.
Office: GMCS-235A • E-Mail: saschellenberg@sdsu.eduDr. Schellenberg’s Website

Thomas K Rockwell

ROCKWELL, THOMAS K.

Professor (1983-Present)
Ph.D., 1983 UC Santa Barbara
Tectonic geomorphology, neotectonics, soils stratigraphy, and the earthquake histories of major faults in southern and Baja California.
Office: GMCS-223A • Phone: 619.594.4441 • E-Mail: trockwell@sdsu.eduDr. Rockwell’s Website

Kathryn W. Thorbjarnarson

THORBJARNARSON, KATHRYN W.

Associate Professor (1991-Present)
Ph.D., 1990 UC Los Angeles
Water resources evaluation and modeling of organic contaminant transport through porous media.
Office: GMCS-228F • Phone: 619.594.1392• E-Mail: kthorbjarnarson@sdsu.eduDr. Thorbjarnarson’s Website

Matt Weingarten

WEINGARTEN, MATTHEW

Assistant Professor (2018-Present)
Ph.D., 2015 University of Colorado-Boulder
Hydrogeology, geomechanics, induced seismicity, and fluid-fault interactions.
Office: GMCS-228J • Phone: 619.594.5160 • E-Mail: mweingarten@sdsu.eduDr. Weingarten’s WebsiteWeingarten lab Website

Anna Foster head shot

ANNA FOSTER

Visiting Faculty
Seismologist
E-Mail: aefoster@sdsu.edu

William Buckley wearing a hat and sunglasses by an alpine lake

WILLIAM BUCKLEY

Lecturer
Geoscience education
E-Mail: wbuckley@sdsu.edu

Vic Camp

CAMP, VIC

SDSU Lecturer retired annuitant (2020 – Present)


SDSU Lecturer (1993 – 2020)
Ph.D., 1976 Washington State University
Volcanology, petrology, tectonic control of magmatic systems, geologic mapping in volcanic terrains with an emphasis on the flood basalts and Basin-and-Range volcanic rocks of eastern Oregon.
Office: GMCS-228K • Phone: 619.594.7170 • E-Mail: vcamp@sdsu.eduDr. Camp’s Website

Matthew Cook wearing a green and blue flora shirt and glasses

MATTHEW COOK

Lecturer
Geoscience education
E-Mail: mjcook@sdsu.edu

Rob Hawk

HAWK, ROB

Lecturer
Engineering Geologist
Office: GMCS-224 • E-Mail: tecdelver@gmail.com

Kip Hering

HERING, KIP

Lecturer
Petroleum Geologist
Phone: 619.594.5586 • E-Mail: k.hering@cox.net

Sarina Mazzone

SARINA MAZZONE

Lecturer
Geoscience education
E-Mail: snmazzone@sdsu.edu

Shane Peterson wearing a button up shirt and smiling

SHANE PETERSON

Lecturer
Geoscience education
E-Mail: smpeterson@sdsu.edu

Kevin Robinson

ROBINSON, KEVIN

Lecturer
Geoscience education
Office: GMCS-228A • Phone: 619.594.1386 • E-Mail: rockrobinson@gmail.comKevin Robinson’s Website

Isabelle Sacramento-McJilton

SACRAMENTO-MCJILTON, ISABELLE

Lecturer
M.S., 1999 San Diego State University
Geoscience education
Office: GMCS-228G • Phone: 619.594.5607 • E-Mail: isacramentogrilo@sdsu.eduProfessor Sacramento-McJilton’s Website

Eric Frost

FROST, ERIC

Professor Homeland Security (1980-Present)
Director, SDSU Visualization Center Director
Director of Fire Infrastructure Research and Education Solutions (FIRES) Center
Co-Director, Center for Information Technology and Infrastructure
Co-Director, Graduate Program in Homeland Security Co-Director
Co-Director of Center Against Trafficking of commodities and Humans (CATCH)
Ph.D., 1983 University of Southern California
Structural geology, field geology, regional tectonics, seismic reflection profiling, and geologic imaging.
Office: CSL-120 • Phone: 619.594.5960 • E-Mail:eric.frost@sdsu.eduDr. Frost’s Website

John Love head shot

LOVE, JOHN

Associate Professor Chemistry (2001-Present)


Environmental Science Undergraduate Advisor
Ph.D., 1998 University of California, San Diego
Protein design and engineering, geared towards applications in the field of protein-based drug design.
Office: CSL-339A • Phone: 619.594.2063 • E-Mail: jlove@sdsu.eduLove Group Webpage

Barry Hanan

HANAN, BARRY

SSPAR, Research Scientist (1989-Present)
Ph.D., 1980 Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Igneous/metamorphic petrology, isotope geochemistry, and tectonics/mantle geodynamics.
Office: PS-117 • Phone: 619.594.6710 • E-Mail: bhanan@sdsu.edu