2014 IBA Team

AAPG IBA Program Dataset: Play Based Exploration

SDSU Imperial Barrel Award Team
Diane Chung-Harris, Andy Jerrett, Trevor Swendell, Mike Verrier, Kaitlin Wessel

San Diego State University

Friday, March 7th, 2014
CSL 422 – 11:00am

Come show support for our 2014 IBA team!

AAPG’s Imperial Barrel Award Program (IBA) is an annual prospective basin evaluation competition for geoscience graduate students from universities around the world. University teams compete to win scholarship funds for their geoscience department and the international recognition that comes from competing or winning in the competition. The program is rigorous and contributes to AAPG’s mission of promoting petroleum geoscience training and advancing the careers of geoscience students.

In this global competition, university teams analyze a dataset (geology, geophysics, land, production infrastructure, and other relevant materials) in the eight weeks prior to their local competition. Each team delivers their results in a 25 minute presentation to a panel of industry experts. Students have the chance to use state of the art technology on a real dataset, receive feedback from an industry panel, impress potential employers in the audience, and win cash awards for their school. The judges will select the winning team on the basis of the technical quality, clarity and originality of presentation.

The IBA is a hands-on opportunity for students to experience the creative process and the high-tech science that is the foundation of the Energy Industry today.

The Pacific Section Competition is just a couple weeks away. Don’t Miss this Special Preview

21 March 2014 –¬†Semi-final Competition, Aera Energy offices, Bakersfield CA.

2014 Participating Schools

  • California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
  • California State University, Bakersfield
  • California State University, Long Beach
  • San Diego State University
  • University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • University of California, Santa Barbara